[Lt. Governor of Texas]
Post Office Box 12068
Austin, Texas 78711
David Dewhurst

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                            
July 14, 2010  

Lt. Governor David Dewhurst Announces Changes to Senate Committee Assignments
AUSTINóLt. Governor David Dewhurst today announced changes to Senate Committee assignments for the 81st Legislature, including eight committee chairmanships, in order to allow the members to prepare for the upcoming 82nd Legislative Session.
"Texas is facing a number of complicated challenges, from creating jobs and balancing the budget, to securing our border, improving public education, building new highways and ensuring a clean environment," said Lt. Governor Dewhurst. "That's why it is critical to continue to have experienced legislators serving as committee chairs, as we prepare to meet these important challenges when the 82nd Legislature convenes in January."
The following changes were made in committee chairs:
Administration - Sen. Kevin Eltife (Tyler)
Business & Commerce - Sen. John Carona (Dallas)
Economic Development - Sen. Mike Jackson (La Porte)
Jurisprudence - Sen. Chris Harris (Arlington)
Natural Resources - Sen. Troy Fraser (Horseshoe Bay)
Nominations - Sen. Bob Deuell (Greenville)
Transportation & Homeland Security - Sen. Tommy Williams (The Woodlands)
Select Committee on Veterans Health - Sen. Jeff Wentworth (San Antonio)
"With some changes in Senate membership, we saw an opportunity to re-align senators' individual expertise and priorities with the several committees," said Lt. Governor Dewhurst. "I appreciate the hard work and dedication of all the 31 fine members of the Texas Senate. Each is deeply committed to ensuring a bright future for the people they represent in their respective districts and all 25 million Texans."
- 30 -